BLUSH- short story chapter 4 (Final)

Chapter 4

        I’m pretty sure I woke up with a smile on my face. That was until, I realized that I was in Devon’s bed alone. I tipped toed out of his room across the hall into my own, smiling at the fact that I was kind of doing the “walk of shame” in my own house. Oh my god, I can’t believe we just made love! I thought excitedly and, it was far better then I could have ever imagined. The way he kissed me, the way he held me, the way he licked every inch of my body! If I could, I would never wash away his scent. I turned on the faucet to the bathtub knowing that I defiantly needed to soak after last night, but I couldn’t wait to be near him again and I didn’t want my breakfast to get cold.

         After my shower, I felt sexy, I felt confident and finally free of the sexual frustration that I had been feeling for months. I put on a white floral skirt with pink roses, a simple white t-shirt, a jean jacket and pink ballerina flats and headed downstairs. To my surprise, there was no breakfast. Not even a bowl of cereal left out on the table for me. For a minute, I kind of caught an attitude until Devon came up behind me and wrapped his arms around me.

     “Good morning baby”, he said kissing me on my neck.

     “Morning. No breakfast?” I chuckled to hide my disappointment.

Devon turned me around so that I was looking up at him.

     “No, I thought we would go out for breakfast.”

I felt guilty for having an attitude. Who did I think I was messing with?

     “Sure. That sounds great”, I said kissing him on the lips.

He returned my kiss with a hungry tongue and soft lips. Oh my god, I could live off his kisses forever.

     “What are you thinking?” He asked.

     “Finally”, I said confessing what I was truly thinking.

Finally.

       We held hands all the way until we got out of the car, but holding hands outside of that had not been discussed. Neither one of us reached for each other’s hand between the short distance from the car to the restaurant. Once we were inside the restaurant and seated, I felt a shift in his demeanor.

“What?” I asked.

He hesitated before he spoke.

“I, uh, about last night…”

I braced myself for yet another rejection, I don’t think I’m going to survive what’s about to come. I sat in silence waiting for the apocalypse.

“…I meant what I said Nadia. I don’t care what anyone thinks or their feelings about what’s right or wrong. Including your mom and my dad.”

I felt my heart sink and then my ears perk up.

“Wait? What?” I said not sure if I was hearing correctly.

“I said, that I don’t care what anyone thinks about our relationship”, Devon repeated, reaching over the table to grab my hands.

Our relationship? I took a deep breath, so this is real.

“But I understand if you have regrets about last night–”

“I don’t have any regrets, Devon”, I cut him off before he said anything else stupid.

“I want this. You’re all I ever wanted. We’ll deal with whatever comes our way”, I said looking into his eyes.

I watched as he smiled and gave me those dimples.

“I love you Nadi”, Devon said kissing my hands.

“I love you too Devon.”

“We do have one little…problem”, I admitted.

“What is it?” He asked wrinkling his eyebrows.

“We have to tell our parents.”

Devon exhaled deeply and hesitated, “Yeah, I–”

“Unless you want to just wait, and figure out our living situations first, then tell them”, I offered.

“That could work but, I was hoping to just get everything out and in the open first before we…”

Devon reached into his jacket pocket, “Before I give you this.”

He pushed a small teal blue box towards me with a white bow on it.

“Oh, earrings? You shouldn’t have”, I joked knowing that it wasn’t what I wished it was.

I seriously doubt it at a time like this, and I knew he wasn’t the type to just pop the question on a whim. Stop it! Your getting way ahead of yourself!

“Open it”, he pressed.

I opened the box.

“Devon… I-I- how? When did you get this?”

“Marry me Nadia”, he sat there looking beautiful and innocent.

He was dead serious.

I felt a smile creep across my face, “Yes! Oh my god yes!”

I watched in shock as Devon took the box from me and slid the diamond ring onto my finger. The rose gold and the pink diamond halo looked unique and beautiful against my skin.

“I love it!” I said leaning over to the table to give him a kiss.

“How long where you planning to do this?” I asked.

“I mean, I’ve always thought you were going to be the one, but it wasn’t until last Christmas that I made up my mind to propose to you.” Devon began to chuckle, “I had this whole thing planned out… where I wanted to fly out to New Jersey and get down on one knee but, I just couldn’t wait that long.”

I sighed and looked down at my beautiful engagement ring.

“This is perfect.”

For the next two weeks, we lived in an undisturbed bliss, making love like we were the last two people on earth but it was only a matter of time before we had to drop the bomb on our parents.

I laid in Devon’s bed fully dressed and scared to death of what was coming. We both were packed and had separate flights booked and ready to leave the very next morning.

“Kids! We’re home!”

My heart skipped a beat and I felt like I was having a mini panic attack.

“Baby just breathe, I’ll do most of the talking. We can do this”, Devon said putting on a brave face.

“I’m not letting you do this alone baby.”

“Devon cleared his throat and walked out of his bedroom first as I followed closely behind him down the stairs.

“There you two are!”

“Hi Mom!” I said trying to sound upbeat.

“Hey Pop”, Devon said in a deep voice, that obviously wasn’t as welcoming as my, “hi mom”.

“Hey son, are you running off soon?” Melvin said noticing luggage by the font door.

“You too, Nadi?” Mom asked.

“I thought you guys where staying at least until Wednesday. What’s going on?”

Mom eyed us suspiciously. Damn, we couldn’t even get a word in before we were both being questioned.

“Mom we need to talk”, I said with my hands in my back jean pockets hiding my engagement ring.

“Dad you too”, Devon said.

We ushered them both into the sitting room and had them sit down on the sofa but there was no way in hell that we where sitting down with them.

         “Uh, first I want to say Linda, you’ve been like a mother to me…”

Oh shit, he used her first name. I watched my mother’s expression, she looked as though she was taken aback. She had never heard Devon use her first name until now. I had to intervene before things got way out of hand.

     “Mom, Melvin… There’s no easy way to say this…” I began, taking my hands out of my pockets hoping that they would get a glance of my ring. “So I’m just going to say it, for the both of us and we just want you to know that no matter what, we will always love you and think of you as our parents… and that we are prepared to leave as soon as this conversation is over.”

     “What’s going on?”

My mother’s voice shook a little. I watched Melvin put his hand on my mother’s shoulder.

    “We’re getting married”, Devon said in a stern voice.

We braced for a response but there was nothing but confusion on their faces. I felt Devon grab my left hand and hold it in his hand.

     “As in, we’re getting married”, I clarified.

My mother put her hands to her mouth and let out a loud gasp. Melvin rose to his feet and I stepped in front of Devon as a barrier between the two.

     “Have you lost your mind boy?” Melvin growled in a low angry voice.

My mother grabbed Melvin by the arm to keep him from inching any further towards Devon.

     “What are you two thinking? When and how in the hell did this happen? You know what, I don’t want to know how this happened”, my mom said clearly in shock.

Melvin walked out of the room never even bothering to look at me.

     “Look, we just wanted you to know. We’re in love and that’s that. We’ll be getting our things and leaving”, I said turning to walk away.

     “Oh you most certainly will not! The two of you are going to sit here and explain to me– to the both of us, about… this! I will not have my children run out on me like goddamned cowards! The both of you were raised better than that. Now sit down!” My mom said clearly pulling her rank on the both of us.

The both of us sat down on the love seat across from her while my mother stared the both of us down as she rosed to her feet.

     “I’ll be right back,” she warned.

          As soon as my mother left the room Devon gave me a quick squeeze on the hand. She returned with a bottle of wine, a wine glass and an ash tray. Since when did she start smoking? Melvin returned with his own bottle of scotch and two glasses, one for Devon and one for himself.

     “Linda–”, Melvin began.

    “Now is not the time dear.”

We waited until, mom lit and took a drag off what looked like a joint.

     “No matter what, you are both my children! Is that clear?”

Devon and I nodded our heads but I couldn’t take my eyes off the joint she was holding. She smokes weed?

     “Now, you two, explain yourselves.”

Devon and I both took deep breaths.

     “It began when I first saw him Mom…”

 

 

THE END

Leave a Reply

