Thr3e- short story chapter 4

Chapter 4

          Sleep over with the genie, are you insane? I thought to myself. No, but he is attractive and apparently he thinks I’m cute, so why not? Because you don’t know him! Maybe I am insane. But some how, I’m drawn to him. Maybe by his magic! Agh! I growled in frustration. I am simply attracted to the man, because I haven’t actually had a boyfriend in years nor have I had any man in this house except for the cable guy! And for once in my life, I am actually attracted to a man in a way that I feel like I want to smother his lips on mine and possibly get out some of this pent up frustration! I covered the sides of my face and giggled a little bit. I can’t believe I just admitted that to myself. There was no way, I was going to go through with any of it, but the thought was entertaining.

     “Here you go”, I placed the comforter and pillow on the couch for Leven.

     “Thank you”, He said.

We stood there for a second in an awkward silence.

     “Well, goodnight”, I turned to head towards my bedroom but he gently grabbed my hand and let his finger tips slide lightly down the inside of my hand.

     “Why are you doing this?” He asked softly.

I hesitated for a moment. How would he feel if I told him the truth? That I pitied him, or the fact that I’m the one that he would look down on in pity if I told him that I couldn’t bare to spend another night alone, when someone like him was right here in my presence. I didn’t have the courage to answer his question, nor did I want to. I stared into his gray eyes until I couldn’t take the intensity anymore. They seemed to hold something locked away inside of them, all the while searching my eyes for an answer to his question.

     “Have a good night Leven”, I said once more.

I turned and began to head towards my bedroom. No! Don’t be a coward! Just tell him! I looked back to see that Leven stood in the same place were I left him, his face was blank and expressionless. I took a deep breath as I slowly walked back towards him. I suddenly felt small and insecure.

     “I– I just don’t want you to be alone, I can’t imagine what it must feel like to have to grant wishes for God knows how long, against your will. It just isn’t fair. I wis–”

     “Shhhh… you don’t have to wish for that, or this…” Leven slowly bent down until his lips met my lips. He paused for a moment, as if he was asking permission to kiss me.

     I swallowed and steadied my breathing. With no room to lick my lips, I silently prayed that my lips were soft. I pressed my lips against his lips and closed my eyes. He smelled of something sweet but I couldn’t recall the scent. I felt his hand touch the side of my face. My mind wondered back to the sweet scent and I wanted to know if his mouth tasted as sweet as he smelled but the coward in me wasn’t going to make the first move. As quick as it began, it was over just as fast. I slowly released air from my mouth and waited a moment before opening my eyes. I couldn’t believe it, we kissed.

     “Goodnight Alyna.”

     “Goodnight Leven.” I stood there for a moment before turning towards my bedroom.

Once I was inside the room and closed the door. I felt a smile creep towards my lips. I touched them. I had been kissed.

          For the first time in a long time I woke up looking forward towards the day. I dreamt of Leven and our kiss all night. I wondered if he would want to kiss me again and this time, I wasn’t going to hold back. Suddenly I felt anxious to see him but not like this. I picked out a new pair of jeans and a cute loose crop top then hurried off into the bathroom to brush my teeth and take a quick shower. After my shower, I dressed in a flash and took a deep breath before I walked out into the hallway towards the living room. In the distance I could see that Leven had folded his comforter and placed the pillow on top.

     “Leven?” I called out.

There was a note on the coffee table.

Alayna,

I’ll be back. I didn’t want to wake you.

-Leven

 

His note was simple and vague in explaining his absence. Where did he go? Although, I knew he would be back, I couldn’t help but feel some disappointment settling in. I wanted to see him. I folded the note and put in it in the back pocket of my jeans and put the comforter and pillow away. I had seven hours to kill before I had to get ready for Sabrina’s engagement party, time to write.

     I sat on the couch with my lap top. My eyes averted from the screen, to the bottle and then to the time. It was nearly two hours and I had written nothing. Why did you have to let him spend the night? Now look at you, all flustered and frustrated… worrying and most likely for nothing. Write something, anything! “Arghhh!” I threw my hands up in defeat. Where was he? I hopped up and went into the kitchen for a distraction. “Hmmm, what to eat?” I settled on a slice of left over strawberry cheesecake. There, a happy distraction. There was nothing like having dessert for breakfast with no one to tell you otherwise.

     “Ahhh, yes! Breakfast of champions!” He boomed.

I nearly jumped out of my skin when I saw Leven standing there as if he never left.

     “You have got to stop doing that! Don’t you own a bell or something that you can ring to let me know when you just decide to appear out of no where?” I croaked.

He chuckled and smiled at me knowingly, making me feel as if I had been caught red handed with my hand in the cookie jar.

     “What?” I asked taking a bite of the cheesecake.

     “Nothing, just admiring your taste.

     “Where were you?” The words flew fast out of my mouth before I could catch then.

     “Shopping.” He said simply.

     “Huh?” I stared at him in shock. Shopping?

     “Come”, he said motioning me into the living room.”I went to pick up a couple of things to wear for tonight. I’ve never been to an engagement party so, I kind of need your opinion. So this, this or this?” He said pointing to three blazers already laid out on the couch for me to see.

I walked over to get a closer look, placing my cake down on the coffee table.

“Hmmm, I like this– wait is this real? Alexander McQueen?

He shrugged as if it was no big deal.

I gawked at the blazer in front of me, it was the one that stood out the most. It was a black on black, floral printed blazer with cropped sleeves, that would go perfect with my dress. Oh my God, we would look like a couple, I gushed to myself.

     “I really like this one”, I said pointing to the black blazer.

     “Good, she knows what she likes.”

    “And I know what I want“, I stated boldly.

     “And what’s that?” He challenged me.

     I took the bait, and challenged him back, “Do I have to wish for it?”

He smiled at me and something glittered in his eyes and that, made me weak. I wanted him.

          I walked over to where he was standing and wasted no time bringing his face down to meet mine and gave him a passionate kiss. We stood still for a moment but I felt no desire to stand in one place. I continued to kiss him letting my tongue explore his tongue. I felt his hands slowly roam up and down my back. His touch felt warm against my bare skin sending tingles down between my legs. I pressed my body against his, hoping to send him the message that I wanted more and it took him only seconds to respond as I felt his hands move down to the small of my back. He kept them there, yet again silently asking permission. I took his hands and roughly placed both of his hands on my butt then I pressed the back of his head gently so that his tongue pressed deeper into my mouth. In one fluid motion he picked me up as if I was lighter than a feather. I wrapped my legs tightly around him as he carried me down the hall towards the bedroom.

Scroll down to continue onto the next chapter

Leave a Reply

